Christmas, Elf on the Shelf

Putting Christ Back into Christmas with the help of the Elf on the Shelf

Don’t get me wrong. I like the adventures of our Elf, Ralph. He has been a part of our Christmas traditions for the last couple of years.

This year though I want to do something slightly different with our elf. He will still be the crazy, adventurous, silly elf as always, but with a twist. He is going to help teach the kids about the true meaning of Christmas.

As I have been searching about this I found some interesting ideas on how to incorporate Jesus into the shenanigans of our elf.

To start off the season with elf’s return letter or if you are just starting your elf tradition his welcome letter. Rachel at Following in My Shoes has an amazing letter. I think I will use this as an outline for the letter that my kids will be getting this year. Once I have the letter composed I will share it with you.

Ralph will give the kids each day some verses of the Christmas story to read and an act of kindness to complete. On the last two days the kids will be reading our favorite Christmas books. The Polar Express and How the Grinch Stole Christmas.

This calendar shows where Ralph will be, what the reading is, and what the act of kindness will be.

Elf on the Shelf 2013 Calendar_web

I got the ideas for my random acts of kindness from Found the Marbles, Home Schooling Ideas, and The Random Acts of Kindness Foundation

Do you have a favorite Christmas tradition or Elf on Shelf idea? You are more than welcome to share them here.

I hope that you will have a blessed Christmas season and that you too will be able to bring Christ back into your Christmas.

UPDATE: You can try downloading this calendar in PDF format. when I click on the link no image shows up, but when I tell it to download the image, the image is there or I can email you a copy of the calendar.

Elf on the Shelf 2013 Calendar

Ralph’s 2013 return letter can be found here

Leave a Reply

