Christmas, One dish meals, Recipes

Christmas Baking ~ Sour Cabbage Rolls

A tradition in our house is to have a Ukrainian food for dinner on Christmas Eve. We are not Ukrainian, and I cannot cook as well as many of my Ukrainian friends. but it is food the whole family enjoys. It is a special evening we share with my mom and dad before we head off to the Christmas Eve services.

Our evening meal usually consists of sour cabbage rolls,  some type of Ukrainian sausage fried up, and pierogies or should I  say varenyky. It turns out the pierogy is Polish (I had no idea, we have always just used the word pierogy).

I make the sour cabbage rolls from scratch, the pierogoiesI normally buy from the store. Maybe one of you reading this will be able to explain it to me. Is the Polish pierogy the same as the Ukrainian varenyky? Any how moving on, sometimes when I am feeling really ambitious I will make the pierogy/varenyky too.

Sour Cabbage Rolls

Ingredients

  • Head of sour cabbage
  • Ground Beef
  • Rice (uncooked)
  • Garlic Cloves
  • Onion
  • Egg
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Crushed of pureed tomato
  • V8 juice or tomato soup
  • Onion Powder
  • Strong Beef Broth

Ingredients

In a large bowl.  Add 2 Lbs of ground beef

Next add 1 C rice. The recipe says to have the 1 cup of rice cooked and cooled. I have never done that. I have always put the rice in uncooked.

Add 3 cloves of garlic minced

Add 3/4 C of finely chopped onion

Add one slightly beaten egg

Cut the hard spine out of cabbage

Add  3 Tbsp of meat mixture to leaves. I use my 3 Tbsp cookie dough scoop.

Cabbage Rolls ready for the sauce to be added

Tomato sauce added.

I am sorry I do not have a picture of the finished product. I simply forgot about taking a picture when they came out of the oven. Sour Cabbage RollPDF – Printable Recipe

Leave a Reply

